Better City Superior | Explore Superior

Citizen Action Needed for Better City Superior

If You Believe – Now Is The Time For Action

The heat is on at the State Assembly to include the Superior Exposition District in the State Budget. In a recent letter from three leaders of major utility companies to state legislators, they were urged to push forward the Better City Superior (BCS) plan as an ideal complement to a planned state of the art 525-550 megawatt natural gas generation facility to be built in Douglas County.

Utility Leaders Urge Passage of BCS

These leaders, Barbara Nick, President & CEO of Dairyland Power Cooperative, Deborah Amberg, President of Superior Water, Light & Power, and Alan Hodnik, Chairman, President & CEO of ALLETE, Inc., urged state budget decision makers to help make Better City Superior a reality.

The energy company heads stated that the natural gas plant of the magnitude planned needs a “vibrant and growing community with a quality of life attractive to a long term quality workforce.”

They went on to say:

“The Superior Exposition District concept is an ideal mechanism to create an effective public/private partnership and a resulting new and attractive future for our citizens and businesses to thrive and grow for generations.

Through growth we will broaden the tax base, reduce the disturbing high and rising per capita fixed taxation, create modern, desirable and affordable housing and close the cost of living disadvantage and quality of life gap relative to our border neighbor, Duluth, Minnesota.”

What Can Citizens Do To Help?

If you believe in Superior and want to help persuade legislative leaders to include BCS in the 2017-2019 budget, now is the time to step up and make your voice heard

BCS needs community minded citizens to write email and/or call these legislators today…not tomorrow…TODAY!

At the bottom of this article is a list of the people to contact (simply click on their email address or phone number to email or call them and send your message of support for BCS. 

If you have the time, please write from your heart and express why you think this is important.

However, if time is short simply copy the following text and individually address it to each legislator:

As a citizen concerned about the vitality of Superior and northwest Wisconsin, I support the Better City Superior Exposition District and ask for you to support it as well. This initiative will help move business forward, grow our community, and fuel our local and regional economy.

The Exposition District is our chance to make a positive change in our community. We need your help. Please include the Exposition District in the 2017-2019 budget. It is what our community wants – and needs – to grow and prosper.

Be sure to sign your email with your full name, address and phone number to insure they take your message seriously.

Superior needs her citizens to invest their time in contacting the decision makers shown below. Here are their contact emails and phone numbers:

Sen. Thomas Tiffany
Senate District 12
Call (608) 266-2509
Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov
Sen. Howard Marklein
Senate District 17
Call (608) 266-0703
Sen.Marklein@legis.wi.gov
Rep. Mark Born
Assembly District 39
Call (608) 266-2540
Rep.Born@legis.wisconsin.gov
Sen. Alberta Darling
Senate District 8
Call (608) 266-5830
Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov
 
Sen. Leah Vukmir
Senate District 5
Call (608) 266-2512
Sen.Vukmir@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Mike Rohrkaste
Senate District 5
Call (608) 266-2512
Rep.Rohrkaste@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. John Nygren
Assembly District 89
Call (608) 266-2343
Rep.Nygren@legis.wisconsin.gov
Sen. Lena Taylor
Senate District 4
Call (608) 266-5810
Sen.Taylor@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Gordon Hintz
Assembly District 54
Call (608) 266-2254
Rep.Hintz@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Dale Kooyenga
Assembly District 14
Call (608) 266-9180
Rep.Kooyenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Sen. Jon Erpenbach
Senate District 27
Call (608) 266-6670
Sen.Erpenbach@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Katrina Shankland
Assembly District 71
Call (608) 267-9649
Rep.Shankland@legis.wisconsin.gov
Sen. Luther S. Olson
Senate District 14
Call (608) 266-0751
Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Amy Loudenbeck
Assembly District 31
Call (608) 266-9967
Rep.Loudenbeck@legis.wisconsin.gov
Waylon Hurlburt
Budget/Finance Administrator
Call (608) 266-9709
waylon.hurlburt@wisconsin.gov
Sen. Sheila Harsdorf
Senate District 10
Call (608) 266-7745
Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov
Rep. Mary Felzkowski
Assembly District 35
Call (608) 266-7694
Rep.Felzkowski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Gov. Scott Walker
Office of the Governor
Call (608) 266-1212
governor@wi.gov

Additionally, please click HERE be taken to the Better City Superior website where you can also fill out an online petition supporting this visionary development for the City of Superior.

Support Superior's Future by Contacting Wisconsin Lawmakers Now | Better City Superior | Explore Superior




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers:

Top