YellowJacket Athletics: WIAC Announces Academic Honors for 2014-15


Record of Yellowjacket student-athletes honored


SUPERIOR, WIS. – August 10, 2015: The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) has released its Scholastic Honor Roll for the 2014-15 academic year and its final year as a full member of the conference UW-Superior landed 186 student-athletes on the list, including 27 who are named more than once as a result of playing multiple sports. To qualify for the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll, student-athletes must achieve a grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale.

For the fifth year in a row UW-Superior has seen its number of student-athletes being honored increase, as 17 more athletes were honored this year than in 2013-14. Conference-wide, nearly 50% of the more than 5,000 student-athletes in the WIAC garnered academic honors.
“It is a major point of pride for me every year when this announcement comes out. It is a real testament to our student-athletes for the work that they do over the course of the academic year and to our coaches for keeping everybody on task,” said UW-Superior Athletics Director Steve Nelson. “Our student-athletes work extremely hard in their sports and in the classroom, and nothing drives that point home like seeing these numbers continuing to go up every year.”
Below is a breakdown by sport of the UW-Superior recipients.
Baseball (14): Derek Cagle, Brady Flaherty, Kyle Gauger, Riley Grandson, Sam Holden, Jake Irlbeck, Jordan Koepp, Nik Mattson, Michael Osterman, Greg Pitts, Brady Stocker, Trevor Stone, Seth Wage, Damian Wiblin
Men’s Basketball (9): Justin Bieber, Caleb Burch, Cory Henkel, Zach Johnson, Tyler Ketz, Dan Motyka, Zach Schradle, Cade Stackpool, Chris Tyler
Men’s Cross Country (9): Mieszko Brikis, Charles Corbett, Brandon Haling, Jordan Koski, Jackson Lindquist, Ed Martin, Nick Nemec, Ernesto Soto, Cam Tiberg
Men’s Hockey (23): Brandon Anderson, Matt Audette, Derrick Brooks, David Dalbec, Tanner Dion, Ian Ecklund, Conner Faupel, Bryce Fink, Cody Hotchkin, Jimmy Hughes, Wes Judnick, Pat Kinkopf, Dan Kovar, Donovan Mattfeldt, Cal Miska, Jordan Neduzak, Dylan Nelson, Tom Paine, Eric Shand, Cory Simons, Anton Svensson, Alex Thompson, Zach Thompson
Men’s Soccer (12): Sultan Almisfer, Dan Baga, Dan Baker, Erik Boese, Jon Bucklew, Matt Elder, Collin Frisco, Tim Furland, Joey Gustafson, Trent Holmes, John Levenick, Ryan Linsmayer
Men’s Track and Field (25): Jared Anderson, Dan Baga, Mieszko Brikis, Charles Corbett, Nick Donahue, Alex Fathie, Tom Fleming, Henry Habermann, Brandon Haling, Mitch Hiner, Caleb Hohensee, Jordan Koski, Jackson Lindquist, Paul Litecky, Ed Martin, Dan Motyka, Nick Nemec, Joe Olinger, Kevin Olson, Noah Potratz, Ernesto Soto, Cam Tiberg, Thomas Udenberg, Devon Webb, Gabe Zielke
Softball (13): Whitney Brugman, Sasha Fjeran, Allie Fuller, Macy Hanson, Mikayla Haynes, Sally Linzmeier, Shelly Misco, Megan Nelson, Traci Popple, Kari Shipman, Brittany Thomfohrda, Katie White, Katie Wilke
Volleyball (9): Stephanie Bandelin, Katie Boone, Jaimee Buck, Keely Deadrick, Elizabeth Koza, Alexis Landherr, Leah Nightingale, Amelia Nora, Vikki Vinokur
Women’s Basketball (17): Bailee Bartunek, Katie Boone, Abby Clemons, Grace Kennedy, Brittany Laehn, Justin Larson, Vanessa Lebens, Brynn Liljander, Allyssa Lindberg, Sally Linzmeier, Allie Nelson, Desirae Sarver, Hadley Skalmoski, Jade Tucker, Deandra Vavra, Katie White, Amber Zimpel
Women’s Cross Country (9): Alissa Boyhtari, Jackie Erickson, Kayla Gibson, Rachel Hills, Jessica Irvine, Hannah Kautz, Brittney Kemi, Sara Schield, Kate Weyenberg
Women’s Hockey (15): Amanda Coey, Kiara DeKezel, Mikayla Goodin, Rebekah Hakk, Emily Heid, Caitlyn Hunt, Rebecca Hurst, Kim Kobar, Karen Larson, Lynne Larson, Gina Marsalla, Jessica Marsalla, Kari Miller, Dani Schultz, Lexie Weiss
Women’s Soccer (11): Katelyn Adams, Kailey Buhr, Shelby Coombs, Miranda Garrelts, Bailey Henderson, Amber Holt, McKenzie Krohn, Lily Marcelius, Brittney Olson, Taylor Piechocki, Whitney Zegarski
Women’s Track and Field (20): Katie Boone, Alissa Boyhtari, Jackie Erickson, Kayla Gibson, Rebekah Hakk, Samantha Hale, Kaylee Hatfield, Rachel Hills, Hannah Kautz, Brittany Kemi, Kaitlyn Knutson, Jennifer Kromrey, Torri Larson, Gina Marsalla, Jessica Marsalla, Svenja Ruehl, Sara Schield, Sydney Thompson, Vikki Vinokur, Kate Weyenberg
The WIAC also presented an all-academic award to institutions that had a grade point average for its student-athletes that was equal to, or greater than, the grade point average of the overall student body. Yellowjacket student-athletes received the honor for the ninth straight year and for the 13th time in the last 15 years by having a cumulative grade point average of 3.061. The overall student population at UW-Superior earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.004.
UW-Superior was one of six WIAC schools to receive the award, joining UW-La Crosse, UW-Platteville, UW-River Falls, UW-Stout, and UW-Whitewater.
“Wins are great and seeing great achievement on the playing field is noteworthy, but for me this is truly the best part of the job, seeing the student-athletes succeed in the classroom,” Nelson said. “You know that all of the hard work they put in will serve them well when they leave UW-Superior and become productive members of society. It is very gratifying to know that being an athlete here played a role in that.”
Individuals who were named to the honor roll receive a certificate of achievement, while universities that receive the all-academic award will receive a plaque to mark the honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *